About Us

Located at the Landing Reserve in Taupo at the North end of the Lake, LTYC has been serving the sailing community of the Central North Island for over 60 years.   We are a family based club with a mixture of centeboard dinghies and trailer yachts.   We cater for all levels of sailing ability and our vibrant membership embraces all varieties of yachting. 

The beautiful Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest body of fresh water, provides the perfect location for our sailing activities.   Our Clubhouse, with its marvellous view over the lake towards Mt Ruapehu and the other peaks of the Tongariro National Park, is the perfect venue for our social activities and your special event.

We invite you to explore the pages of this website.   Have a look at our sailing divisions, events calendar, race results, venue information and much more.   Read the news pages on our site to see what is happening, add your comments, and follow us on facebook. 

Become a part of the experience. Join in the action! contact us.

The 2021/2022 Contacts are

Venue Booking - venue@ltyc.org.nz

Commodore Scotty Brasell  0275 996 669 commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Vice Commodore John Thornton  021 808 699 vice.commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Rear Commodore  Nick van der Vlerk  0274 267 824 rear.commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Secretary Joanna Kidson   secretary@ltyc.org.nz
Treasurer Dean Roe   treasurer@ltyc.org.nz
Liaison with other Clubs Scotty Brasell  0275 996 669 commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Boat Storage Phil Clarke   cbstorage@ltyc.org.nz
Club Hire     venue@ltyc.org.nz
Membership Alan Simpson    
Centreboard Co-ordinator Phil Clarke   centreboard@ltyc.org.nz
Learn to Sail Nick van der Vlerk
 0274 267 824 learntosail@ltyc.org.nz
Web Master     web@ltyc.org.nz

Lake Taupo Yacht Club Incorporated is New Zealand owned and registered under the Incorporated Societies Act 1908