About Us

Located at the Landing Reserve in Taupo at the North end of the Lake, LTYC has been serving the sailing community of the Central North Island for over 60 years.   We are a family based club with a mixture of centeboard dinghies and trailer yachts.   We cater for all levels of sailing ability and our vibrant membership embraces all varieties of yachting. 

The beautiful Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest body of fresh water, provides the perfect location for our sailing activities.   Our Clubhouse, with its marvellous view over the lake towards Mt Ruapehu and the other peaks of the Tongariro National Park, is the perfect venue for our social activities and your special event.

We invite you to explore the pages of this website.   Have a look at our sailing divisions, events calendar, race results, venue information and much more.   Read the news pages on our site to see what is happening, add your comments, and follow us on facebook. 

Become a part of the experience. Join in the action! contact us.

The 2017/2018 Contacts are

Commodore Alan Simpson 377 2167 commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Vice Commodore Mike Hindrup 027 490 8977 vice.commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Rear Commodore (+Regattas) Michelle Woodfield 027 484 8708 rear.commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Secretary Laurie Swift   secretary@ltyc.org.nz
Treasurer Logan Hammersley   treasurer@ltyc.org.nz
Liaison with other Clubs Alan Simpson

377 2167

commodore@ltyc.org.nz
Boat Storage Martin Watkins 377 4101 cbstorage@ltyc.org.nz
Club Hire Eat Catering 377 0352 eat@eatcatering.co.nz
Membership Dean Roe 377 2997 learn2sail@ltyc.org.nz
Centreboard Co-ordinator Martin Watkins 377 4101 centreboard@ltyc.org.nz
Learn to Sail Dean Roe
377 0861 learn2sail@ltyc.org.nz
Web Master Matt Ryder 027 608 5812 web@ltyc.org.nz